MMA Journalism Is a Joke

Posted: February 13, 2011 in Journalism, MMA
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Lois Lane

I’ve been watching UFC PPVs since UFC 2. The earliest UFC I attended was UFC 7 when Marco Ruas made his United States debut, knocking down an overwhelmed Paul Varleans with nasty leg-kicks and punching him to TKO with his left hand because Ruas had broken his right hand earlier.  I worked for the now-defunct Extreme Fighting Championship as their website developer during the first couple years of attending law school. All of this, apparently, qualifies me to be an MMA “journalist,” despite absolutely no experience or training in the field.

I’ve had recent run-ins with a few MMA “journalists” (henceforth, MMAJ) lately (none of whom I’ll identify), and I’m absolutely sick of it. They’re uninformed (because they don’t know how to research), unprofessional (because they don’t know how to act like civilized adults), and their opinions carry no more expertise than the average fan (because that’s all they are, an average fan).

ESPN and other major media outlets post links to MMAJ commentary videos taken in their parents’ basements and permit them to have their uninformed voices in major media. Why? Because ESPN, et al. completely dropped the ball on MMA. There was absolutely no coverage, and when the UFC exploded overnight (relatively speaking), bringing the rest of the MMA industry with them, the major media was ill-prepared for the result. While they’ve now brought in legitimate journalists to cover MMA, the MMAJ are firmly entrenched, and the traffic to their websites makes it difficult to eliminate those hack sites from the radar scope of the sports world.

Journalist

While some of you might find this refreshing — and it is — it’s gotten out of hand.  My latest run-in was with what I call a “novelty act” MMAJ, which is someone who’s been given the job not because she’s been watching MMA since its inception (which may or may not be true in her case), but rather because she’s a female. That’s it. Guys want to look at her, and women want to know that they have a place in MMA. The solution is to give the job to an untalented hack simply because she’s female. How’s that for removing stereotypes?

This MMAJ, along with so many other people in the Twitterverse — both MMAJ and ordinary folk — immediately raised the specter of steroids when Antonio Silva beat Fedor. Basically, there was no way he could have beaten an aging Fedor unless he was juiced. I expect this baseless accusation from typical MMA fans, especially those that worship Fedor as a god, but not from a professional journalist. She has an obligation to the truth, and until we have a test result or a history of continuously failing tests, there’s no reason to raise suspicion.

Of course, in defense of herself she referenced Silva’s one prior “failure.” Assuming for a moment that any past test is relevant to whether he’s juicing now (it isn’t), I have yet to hear or read personally a single person who isn’t critical of the CSAC for their handling of Silva. At the very least, any talk of his past failure should have an asterisk attached to it.

Update: I took a look at her tweet stream after I had unfollowed her. She was complaining to another MMA writer about how the Internet was so “abusive.” Apparently she missed the point that what we (or maybe just I) were criticizing was her abusive language towards Antonio Silva. Even if I were abusive, I have an excuse: I’m just some anonymous coward on the internet. Is that all she is? Apparently so, and her complaint makes her a hypocrite as well.

Regardless of how you feel about Fedor, Silva’s prior test, or Chael Sonnen (the source of my other two run-ins), it is unprofessional for you to make baseless accusations and tarnish a fighter’s name because of your assumptions. For most of you, that isn’t a problem. You’re not professional journalists. For MMAJ, it is a problem. A big problem.

Every single article by a long-time MMA fan, never-a-journalist has ridiculous errors in it, easily solved by research and proofreading. In fact, after posting a few rants, the very next online article I read on the subject of Fedor’s loss to Silva contained an example of such easily avoidable errors. We should all demand professionalism, and the professionals should wean themselves from the need to use hacks as soon as possible. If ESPN disagrees, I’ll send them my resume.

Follow me on Twitter @MMADork
Follow the UFC on Twitter @UFC

Comments
  1. […] the UFC now in control, Mauro has to go. I doubt many fans will miss him. I know I’m beating the dead horse yet again, but MMA is now a big league sport. Journalists, commentators, interviewers, and […]

  2. […] any reader of this blog knows (both of you), I’m very critical of MMA “journalists” (MMAJ). Part of the problem is that ESPN, Fox Sports Net, and mainstream media won’t give it […]

  3. […] the last card. The result was I embarrassed Sherdog’s Jason Probst, who like most of the paid MMA journalists, isn’t any better than a typical blogger like […]

  4. […] the last card. The result was I embarrassed Sherdog’s Jason Probst, who like most of the paid MMA journalists, isn’t any better than a typical blogger like […]

  5. […] here’s an interesting story care of Bloody Elbow. Granted, BE consists of what I call MMAJs (i.e., mixed martial arts journalists), so it would be hypocritical of me to treat what they say as […]

  6. […] here’s an interesting story care of Bloody Elbow. Granted, BE consists of what I call MMAJs (i.e., mixed martial arts journalists), so it would be hypocritical of me to treat what they say as […]

  7. […] least in hindsight I’m seeing this. What’s being lost on every commentator whose work I read (this is not a surprise) is that the UFC made a tremendous mistake in using a card set in Denver as their opportunity to […]

  8. […] language, and why that matters, over on my other blog. I’ve also discussed ad nauseum how bad “journalists” covering mixed martial arts are, and why that matters. As you will see, this problem isn’t limited to MMAJ; other sports […]

  9. […] (MMAJ) that represented the proverbial straw that broke the camel’s back. I posted MMA Journalism is a Joke 8 months ago next Tuesday. I didn’t expect much to change in that 8 months, but I just wanted […]

  10. […] for journalism, this blog started with an article demonstrating the problem we have with press coverage of MMA (which resulted in praise from Jon Anik via a direct message), and in the time since I wrote that […]

  11. […] Moreover, for what it’s worth, Dana White is telling us Meltzer is making up the whole story, which wouldn’t surprise me. This is all factual speculation, and I’m going to make it worse by adding some legal […]

  12. […] in the off chance it might turn out to be correct just to be able to say you got there first? Yeah, that sounds familiar. MMA Journalists should take a lesson from the Newsroom. (Of course, all journalists should take […]

  13. […] There were a couple of retweets, including 0ne (linked above) from Joseph Sandoval, a professional fighter, which lends credibility to the fact that the UFC saw it despite it’s later deletion from Torres’s tweet stream. I can’t believe that trained journalists have been unable to uncover this bit of information. It’s been published to Twitter. On second thought, I can believe it. […]

  14. […] who’s read this blog knows that I’m no friend of the media. I take them to task whenever they screw up (whether I write about it or not). As I pointed out […]

  15. […] little a deal this is, and thus showing you that MMA Journalism, even after all of these years, is still very much a joke. That’s the big deal. Anyone with 1) knowledge of her judo career and 2) a capability to […]

Leave a Reply

