Stupid Picks: The UFC 131 Edition

Posted: June 7, 2011 in Journalism, MMA

Dos-Santos-Carwin

I so much enjoyed calling myself stupid on Erika Lewis’s Fight Fans Radio last night that I decided to continue my series of stupid picks, though I will tone down the jocular rhetoric against Jason Probst of Sherdog. This time, it’s Saturday’s UFC 131 card. Because of how dumb picking fights is, and because how lazy I feel today, I won’t be picking how all of the fights will end; I’m just picking the winners for some of them. I’ve included Probst’s picks so I can once again reign supreme.

Junior “Cigano” Dos Santos vs. Shane Carwin

If Gabriel Gonzaga can get through Carwin’s defenses, so can Dos Santos. Unlike Gonzaga, Dos Santos hits hard enough to drop Carwin before Carwin can get that one big punch.

Dos Santos by KO/TKO in under three minutes of the first round.
Probst says Carwin by 2nd round stoppage.

Kenny Florian vs. Diego Nunes

Without a title shot on the line, Florian is unbeatable. So long as no one tells him that he’s next in line for the Featherweight title with a win tonight, he won’t blow it.

Florian
Probst says Florian by decision.

Jon Olav Einemo vs. Dave Herman

Is this right? Two UFC first-timers on the main card?

Herman
Probst says Einemo by 3rd round submission.

Demian Maia vs. Mark Munoz

It will take a long time for Munoz to overcome the image of him getting knocked out by Matt Hammil by head kick, though Maia can’t seem to submit anyone anymore. Sucks to be a fan of Demian right now.

Maia by decision
Probst says Munoz by 2nd round KO. (Jason, are you crazy?)

Donald Cerrone vs. Vagner Rocha

Erika says Cerrone smells good. I don’t care. I wouldn’t even factor in how Carano smells in picking one of her fights … though I do care.

Cerrone
Probst says Cerrone by 2nd round KO.

Chris Weidman vs. Jesse Bongfeldt

I can’t pick a win for anyone with a ridiculous last name. Is this any less valid a criterion than what we normally get from MMA “journalists”?

Weidman
Probst says Weidman by second-round submission or TKO from ground-and-pound

Yves Edwards vs. Sam Stout

I never could understand why Sam Stout continued to have a job with the UFC, but he showed remarkable improvement in his last four fights. He faces a veteran that refuses to go away. Tough call. If Stout can avoid a submission

Sam Stout by close decision
Probst says Edwards by close decision.

Dustin Poirier vs. Jason Young

Always go with the guy with Zuffa, LLC experience over the guy with none.

Poirier
Jason picks Poirier via second-round knockout

Nick Ring vs. James Head

Give me a second. I have to flip a coin. . . . . Okay, I’m ready now.

Ring
Probst says Head by close decision

Darren Elkins vs. Michihiro Omigawa

I’d like to see Omigawa pull off a magnificent finish so I can yell, “O-mi-GOD!” I’d also like to smell Gina Carano. Neither will happen.

Elkins
Probst says O-mi-GOD by late stoppage or decision

Krzysztof Soszynski vs. Mike Massenzio

The Pole gets the nod on having more z’s in his name. Besides, you should never bet against that many consonants at once. Sorry, Mike, but double s’s don’t count.

Soszynski
Probst didn’t pick this fight. Is it off? Both the UFC and Sherdog list it.

Aaron Rosa vs. Joey Beltran

Beltran is tough, but he loses.

Rosa
Probst picks Rosa by decision

Follow me on Twitter @MMADork
Follow the UFC on Twitter @UFC
Follow Jason Probst on Twitter @jasonprobst
Follow Sherdog on Twitter @Sherdog
Follow Junior Dos Santos on Twitter @junior_cigano
Follow Shane Carwin on Twitter @ShaneCarwin
Follow Kenny Florian on Twitter @kennyflorian
Follow Dave Herman on Twitter @davehermanmma
Follow Demian Maia on Twitter @demianmaia
Follow Mark Munoz on Twitter @mark_munoz
Follow Donald Cerrone on Twitter @donaldcerrone
Follow Gina Carano on Twitter @ginacarano (needless to say, I do)
Follow Chris Weidman on Twitter @ChrisWeidmanUFC
Follow Sam Stout on Twitter @SammyJstout
Follow Krzysztof Soszynski on Twitter @KSOSufc

Leave a Reply

