Ronda Rousey Makes the Jump to MMA

Posted: June 22, 2011 in Judo, MMA
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I used to train in Judo under Maurice Allan at Sport Judo, and his daughter, Kristen, was an Olympic hopeful. The one thing that always stood in Kristen’s way was Ronda Rousey. Ronda is a magnificent judoka (one who practices judo), having been to several Olympic games had having won a medal representing the USA. I just found out that she made the switch to mixed martial arts. Below is a video of her second professional fight, which was against Charmaine Tweet. Don’t blink.

Watch for this one. She could very well be the future of women’s MMA, and she definitely lends credibility to the women’s division. She’s had only two fights (both wins), and she’s already ranked as #10-ranked 145-pound female MMA fighter in the world according to the Unified Women’s MMA Rankings. The only knock against her is that she’s spent less than four minutes in the cage as an amateur and professional combined. Of course, that’s because she’s slapped an armbar on every single opponent she’s faced in under one minute. For her complete resume, head over to her “About” page and professional “Record” page.

I expect to see her in Strikeforce soon. Moreover, it will be hard for Dana White to continue to ignore women’s MMA with women like Ronda in the mix.

Follow me on Twitter @MMADork
Follow Ronda Rousey on Twitter @RondaRousey
Follow Strikeforce on Twitter @Strikeforce
Follow Dana White on Twitter @DanaWhite

Comments
  1. […] back in June, I told you that she was the real deal. At 4-0, it seems premature to give her a title shot, but aren’t we just wasting our time […]

  2. […] regardless of any of our predictions. As Ronda continues to embarrass the other women, though, I’ll continue to say, “I told you so,” at every step of her career. The only real challenges she faces are Cyborg Santos (after suspension) or Kyra Gracie (if she […]

  3. […] those who hate Ronda, I say think with your brain, not your heart. And to everyone, I remind you, I told you so … 2-1/2 years ago, well before Dana White and Scott Coker knew she […]

  4. […] it’s time for my customary “I told you so.” I predicted all of this long before Dana White or even Scott Coker knew Rousey existed. However, while I certainly […]

  5. […] again, I find myself about 2-3 years ahead of the curve. As with my 2011 comments predicting Ronda’s impact on MMA (quotes below. Last modified June 22, 2011), MMA Journalists are finally saying what I’ve […]

Leave a Reply

