My Picks for UFC 132: Electric Stupiloo

Posted: June 26, 2011 in MMA
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

With the UFC on Versus 4 card taking a serious hit in value, I’m not going to bother to wait to see how bad those picks were before deciding to press on with my picks for UFC 132. As far as I’m concerned, that card won’t count, so it won’t affect my decision to continue making picks. If things hold up, though, I’m headed to Vegas soon to start betting on my picks. I’m 21-8 overall (~62%) since starting to take my picks seriously, and I’m even better if I look only at the main card (12-3, or 75%), which is where I’d generally limit my bets anyway.

Update: With the UFC on Versus 4 in the books, I’m now 14-4 (~71%) on the main cards and 27-11 (~59%) overall.

I’ve added Jason Probst’s picks, and also compiled an incomplete list of picks from some other experts via MMA Live and ESPN.

Dominick Cruz vs. Urijah Faber (UFC Bantamweight Championship)
After Dominick’s obnoxious video on Uriah, it’s hard not to want Uriah to win. Maybe I should let that one go, but considering Uriah’s earlier win over Cruz makes it hard not to see Uriah winning anyway.

My pick: Faber
Jason Probst: Faber
Kenny Florian: Cruz
Franklin McNeil: Cruz
Chad Dundas: Cruz
Josh Gross: Cruz
Chuck Mindenhall: Cruz
Brett Okamoto: Cruz

Wanderlei Silva vs. Chris Leben
I never liked Leben, but with only a few exceptions, hitting him hard makes him more dangerous, and Wanderlei has a job only because of what he once was, not because of what he is.

My pick: Leben
Jason Probst: Silva
Kenny Florian: Leben
Franklin McNeil: Leben
Chad Dundas: Leben
Josh Gross: Silva
Chuck Mindenhall: Silva
Brett Okamoto: Leben

Tito Ortiz vs. Ryan Bader
Ortiz is done as a fighter. He should be coaching, and by that I mean he should be hired to coach the Ultimate Fighter every single season. Still, Bader won’t finish him.

My pick: Bader by decision
Jason Probst: Bader
Kenny Florian: Bader
Franklin McNeil: Bader
Chad Dundas: Bader
Josh Gross: Bader
Chuck Mindenhall: Bader
Brett Okamoto: Bader

Carlos Condit vs. Dong Hyun Kim
Time for an emotional pick: I will never pick against the judo guy. It just won’t happen. This pick shouldn’t even count towards my record one way or another because it’s based on a ridiculous standard, but I’ll stand by it. I would not, however, bet on this fight in Vegas.

My pick: Kim by decision
Jason Probst: Kim
Kenny Florian: Condit
Franklin McNeil: Condit
Chad Dundas: Condit
Josh Gross: Condit
Chuck Mindenhall: Condit
Brett Okamoto: Kim

Matt Wiman vs. Dennis Siver
How does Wiman still have a job? By “beating” the vegan?

My pick: Siver
Jason Probst: Siver
Franklin McNeil: Siver
Chad Dundas: Wiman
Josh Gross: Siver
Chuck Mindenhall: Wiman
Brett Okamoto: Siver

Melvin Guillard vs. Shane Roller
Melvin is yet another guy I never liked, but one I can’t pick against in light of his recent fights.

My pick: Guillard
Jason Probst: Guillard

Rafael dos Anjos vs. George Sotiropoulos
Really tough call here. Whether or not this is an exciting fight, it will be very close. This will be the kind of fight that, if it goes the distance, everyone will complain about the judging.

My pick: Sotiropoulos
Jason Probst: Sotiropoulos

Brian Bowles vs. Takeya Mizugaki
Bowles was the WEC bantamweight champ with a history of finishing fights. Mizugaki wasn’t and doesn’t.

My pick: Bowles
Jason Probst: Bowles

Brad Tavares vs. Aaron Simpson
I’m going with the more established fighter.

My pick: Simpson
Jason Probst: Simpson

Andre Winner vs. Anthony Njokuani
On the one hand, Anthony is a WEC guy, and Winner is a UFC guy, so you should go with the UFC guy. The problem is, Dana White has a reputation for promoting inferior English fighters to appease that market, and Winner’s record suggests he’s an example of that. The WEC lightweights will get some undeserved credit towards legitimacy.

My pick: Njokuani
Jason Probst: Njokuani

Donny Walker vs. Jeff Hougland
Two guys I don’t know.

No pick
Jason Probst: Hougland

Follow me on Twitter @MMADork
Follow the Ultimate Fighting Championship on Twitter @UFC
Follow Jason Probst on Twitter @JasonProbst
Follow Dana White on Twitter @DanaWhite
Follow Dominick Cruz on Twitter @TheDomin8r
Follow Uriah Faber on Twitter @UrijahFaber
Follow Wanderlai Silva on Twitter @wandfc
Follow Chris Leben on Twitter @cripplerufc
Follow Brian Bowles on Twitter @Brian_Bowles
Follow Takeya Mizugaki on Twitter @takeya_miz
Follow Carlos Condit on Twitter @CarlosCondit
Follow Dong Hyun Kim on Twitter @StungunKim
Follow Brad Tavares on Twitter @BradTavares
Follow Aaron Simpson on Twitter @aaronsimpson
Follow Rafael dos Anjos on Twitter @RdosAnjosMMA
Follow George Sotiropoulos on Twitter @georgesots
Follow Tito Ortiz on Twitter @titoortiz
Follow Ryan Bader on Twitter @ryanbader
Follow Dennis Siver on Twitter @DennisSiver
Follow Melvin Guillard on Twitter @Young__Assassin
Follow Shane Roller on Twitter @shaneroller
Follow Andre Winner on Twitter @AndreWinner
Follow Anthony Njokuani on Twitter @anthonynjoku
Follow Donny Walker on Twitter @EagleEyeMMA
Follow Josh Gross on Twitter @JoshGrossESPN
Follow Franklin McNeil on Twitter @Franklin_McNeil
Follow Chuck Mindenhall on Twitter @ChuckMindenhall
Follow Brett Okamoto on Twitter @bokamotoESPN

Leave a Reply

