Stupid Predictions: #UFC168 CC: @MikeWiseGuy #MMA

Posted: December 28, 2013 in Judo, Karate, Kick-Boxing, MMA, UFC, WMMA
Tags: , , ,

I’m really too busy to write about this, but I’m always hoping to find a way to get a legitimate journalist to cover MMA, and Mike Wise of the Washington Post is on the fence about doing so. One of these days, maybe something will get him curious enough to watch, then interested enough to write. Tonight might be the night. The women have arrived, and the greatest MMA fighter ever is back to reclaim his title.

Manny Gamburyan v. Denis Siver

This is a toss up. Siver used to be good, but now he’s at the level of Gamburyan. Quite an endorsement, eh? When in doubt, I root for the judo guy.

Gamburyan by decision

Michael Johnson v. Gleison Tibau

I still don’t know why Johnson gets such a push when so many fighters are getting their pink slips for losing a single match.

Tibau by decision

Uriah Hall v. Chris Leben

Leben’s best days are behind him. While Hall is still developing, I think he’s good enough to get the win.

Hall by decision

Jim Miller v. Fabricio Camoes

Miller has disappointed me lately. I actually see this as a punishment for that. If he can’t beat Camoes, he’s in danger of getting bounced by the UFC. I never thought I’d say this so soon.

Miller by submission

Josh Barnett v. Travis Browne

I can’t see why so many people are picking Barnett. No way.

Browne by 3rd round KO/TKO

Ronda Rousey v. Miesha Tate

There is absolutely no reason to think this fight isn’t going the same way all of Ronda’s fights go. It’s a complete no-brainer. For those who hate Ronda, I say think with your brain, not your heart. And to everyone, I remind you, I told you so … 2-1/2 years ago, well before Dana White and Scott Coker knew she existed.

Rousey by 1st round submission

Chris Weidman v. Anderson Silva

Weidman has the style and skill to beat Silva, but he showed last time that he’s susceptible to being pulled into Silva’s game plan. Lightning doesn’t strike twice. 99.99% of the time, Silva wins the striking battle. Despite what most are saying, I think Anderson goes in there and does the same goofy dance he always does, gets under Weidman’s skin, and knocks him out. The only question is whether it will take more than one round. I’ll play it safe.

Silva by 2nd round KO/TKO

And now I’m off to Baileys in Ballston Mall. If you’re in Arlington, say hi.

Unless I don’t like you.

Follow me @MMADork
Follow Mike Wise @MikeWiseGuy

Comments
  1. So I guess we were both wrong about that Weidman-Silva II fight, huh? I didn’t see enough to really be able to tell, but it looked to me like Weidman was even doing pretty well striking compared to Silva. He seemed much more raw but at least held his own in striking, and if I’m not mistaken even dazed Silva a couple times early. I’d love to hear your take on the broken leg; was that a random occurrence or did Silva use bad form or both? By the way, I noticed you were in Arlington recently, I work in Arlington on weekends! They’re always showing the Fox UFC on Fridays at Ragtime by the courthouse if you’re lookin’ for a place to try.

    • MMADork says:

      Not only were we wrong, but I won’t take the out by saying the broken leg was a fluke (not saying that you said that). It’s not a common occurrence, but it occurred because Weidman had specifically focused on leg checking in a way that would cause damage to the kicker. Weidman won, fair and square, and it was no fluke.

Leave a Reply

